Posts Tagged ‘tc’

Ricky Switch presents the DubRap mixtape ft Sky-I, Starski, and more

Dub Rap FrontDub Rap Back
Ricky Switch, Pimp Hop Records, and a host of MCs from the Bay Area and beyond present Dub Rap volume 1, a hype and diverse mixtape of dubstep and glitch beats with MCs on the track.  Styles are diverse including autotuned flows, screwed & chopped cuts, glitched out beats and ragga MCs.  This one’s a guaranteed party rocker with an excellent job by the MCs over a killer selection of dubstep beats. Get it for free at  Highlights for me include Fed the Thief, Fever, Monster, Chains, Wide Open, Big Up, and Yes I’m Back, and for the top two I’d have to go with Rankin Scroo on My Trees and Dub Life. Stream it here:
They say in the intro jungle or dubstep is the only natural progression for hiphop, I’m not sure it’s the only one but I think the sound has been moving in that direction for a while. Some examples here from J. Dilla:

Here’s the official summary of the mixtape:

Over a year in the making, countless hours logged, blood, sweat, and tears poured into it, and it’s day has finally arrived, Enter: Dub Rap. This new genre of music has been defined and developed thru the making of DJ Ricky Switch’s newest mixtape: Dub Rap Volume1, featuring One Drop. Put your seat belts on it’s gonna be a bumpy ride, but if your ears are ready to hear the future of music, stay tuned….Rewind four years prior, to a remote island off the north coast of Ireland where a young, but seasoned DrumNBass DJ named Ricky Switch was first being being exposed to wobble basslines, boom bap slaps, and a whole new sound of music which he soon found himself engulfed in, Dubstep. Shortly after, Ricky packed his bags and moved out to California, the San Francisco Bay Area to be exact. He found his way DJ’ing the few Dubstep and DnB shows that he could find, and doing so he also became involved in the local hip hop scene, where he joined the underground rap group Distant Relatives. In due course, he would share a studio with local Bay Area Rapper Starski, and while Ricky would be bumping dubstep dj sets in one room, Starski and his crew were knocking out raps in the other. It was only a matter of time before peanut butter met the chocolate and Reese’s Pieces was made, or as they call it Dub Rap.

During the process of working on the mixtape, they created a marriage the authentic sounds of UK Dubstep music and hardcore underground bay area MC’s and singers. Instantly, the artists became fully engrossed in the sounds and space that Dubstep offers a vocalist and found many ways to deliver their art form. Over 50 tracks were recorded in a year’s time, and only about half of them made it to the mixtape (respect to the ones that didn’t). The Dub Rap sound that came out of this experience is an intense mix of otherworldly sounds courtesy of UK Dubstep rhythms, and the future of bay area and worldwide hip hop music.

This project was done with much praise and respect given to the originators of Dubstep, and the producers who made the music that made this mix possible. It’s aimed at giving the genre another avenue to allow it to grow and to expose more people to it’s undeniable sound and originality. The core artists (the mcs/ singers) involved have no doubts that they will continue to work within this medium of art to allow their creative juices to flourish and expand on an ever broadening horizon of Dubstep visions. Their is no question that the genre of “Dubrap” will catch on with other artists the world over, and allow rappers and singers alike to grow into the next millennium of audio murder: Dubstep and now Dubrap.


Sam Supa - Darkness and Hype - Brap Dem Promo Mix

This new mix from Sam Supa (Grime City, Brap Dem) is a diverse and quality selection of fresh dubstep tunes.  The mixing is excellent, Sam is a pro blender (KitchenAid quality).  Lots of big tunes on this one but my favorites are Von D - Show Me, Kial - Bell Curve, and Jakes - Custard Cream.  This one’s dangerous.  Download & enjoy, then come see Sam live in action tonight or at the next Grime City.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download this mix.


Kelly Dean - February ‘09 Mix

Kelly Dean

Really nice and diverse mix from Kelly Dean out of Costa Mesa (LA), Ca. Tends to err on the garagy side of things, in and out of wobbly, nasty tunes.  Definitely feeling the African Herb refix and many more tunes.  Big mix.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

01 - Synkro - On My Mind - Smokin Sessions
02 - Synkro - Dub Specialist - Smokin Sessions
03 - Kelly Dean - Dynamics - Forthcomming Supernormous Recordings
04 - Quantum Soul - Dream Catcher - Dubbed Out
05 - Synkro - Jah Love - Dubbed Out
06 - Kelly Dean - African Herb - Forthcomming Relentless Dub
07 - Evergreen & Lanlord - Jah Rain (RSD Remix) - Ranking Records
08 - Antiserum - Top Shottas - Full Melt
09 - Antiserum - Blaze It - Full Melt
10 - Matty G - Cuttin’ N Scratchin - Argon
11 - Matty G - Last B Boy - Argon
12 - Kelly Dean - HardHat - Forthcomming Shift
13 - Pawn & EMU - Crunch Time - DUB
14 - Bone Loc & Mundy - Wasteman - DUB
15 - The Game Feat. Lil Wayne - My Life (chimpo remix) - Bootleg
16 - Kelly Dean - Ballin Out - DUB
17 - The Widdler - Lady Dub (HD4000 remix) - DUB
18 - Kelly Dean & Steady - Teflon - DUB
19 - Synkro - Hold Tight - Smokin Sessions
20 - Lil Wayne - a millie (mrk1 remix) - Bootleg
21 - The Qemists (Feat. Wiley) - Dem Na Like We (Subscape remix) - NinjaTune
22 - Flux Pavilion - Show Off - Forthcomming Shift
23 - Flux Pavilion - How Rude - Forthcomming Shift
24 - Dumbsteppaz - Princess Gone Dub - DUB
25 - TC - Wheres my money (caspa remix) - D Style
26 - Eskmo - Agnus Dei - Ancestor
27 - OSC - Bless up - Bassism

Download here.